Computational And Mathematical Modeling Program

Inverse problems

Source: Mueller & Siltanen (2012). Linear and Nonlinear Inverse
Problems with Practical Applications. Philadelphia: siam.

How does an autonomous vehicle recognize a traffic sign? How can seismic measurements be used to determine the origin of an earthquake? How can a three-dimensional tomographic reconstruction of a body part be obtained from a medical scanner?
    
The methods for answering all these questions originate from the field of so-called inverse problems and are of central importance for our society. They are omnipresent in technology, science and also in everyday life and contain mathematics - without many people being aware of it. The process of mathematical modelling is used to solve inverse problems. Complex problems are simplified in such a way that mathematical models can be developed and then accurate solutions can be calculated. Now the question arises whether it is also possible for high school students to use their mathematical school knowledge and computer skills to work on such complex problems and independently find accurate solutions.

In the case of inverse problems, one tries to obtain information about an unknown object by using inaccurate, indirect data. Typically, this data is generated by a phenomenon of physics. If small errors in the data cause huge errors in the object, it is called an ill-posed inverse problem. Therefore, the three conditions of Hadamard must be checked:

  • Existence: At least one solution should exist.
  • Uniqueness: There should be at most one solution.

  • Stability: The solution should always depend on the data.

This is exactly where this research project starts. The aim is to reduce these problems didactically in such a way that they are also accessible to high school students and can be solved in a one-day workshop. School mathematics should be applied in the mathematical methods required for this in order to enable direct integration into (interdisciplinary) school teaching. In addition, solving these real problems shows authentic applications of school mathematics, which are still often missing from current textbooks.

Computer tomography

The reconstruction of an image in computed tomography represents such an ill-posed placed inverse problem. Computer tomographs are used to check whether bones or organs were injured in an accident or whether a patient has a tumour. The patient is irradiated with X-rays and the doctors receive an image of the cross-section of the examined body part. Different grey tones represent different materials, which attenuate the rays to different degrees through absorption.

The central question of the workshop is: "How is it possible to obtain images of the inner structure of the radiographed body parts with the help of X-rays?

Computational And Mathematical Modeling Program

Inverse Probleme

Quelle: Mueller & Siltanen (2012). Linear and Nonlinear Inverse
Problems with Practical Applications. Philadelphia: siam.

Wie erkennt ein autonom fahrendes Fahrzeug ein Verkehrsschild? Wie kann man aus seismischen Messungen auf den Ursprung eines Erdbebens schließen? Wie erhält man von einem medizinischen Scanner eine dreidimensionale tomographische Rekonstruktion eines Körperteils?
    
Die Methoden zur Beantwortung all dieser Fragestellungen stammen aus dem Bereich der sogenannten Inversen Probleme und sind von zentraler Bedeutung für unsere Gesellschaft. Sie sind allgegenwärtig in Technik, Wissenschaft und auch im Alltag und beinhalten Mathematik - ohne dass dies Vielen bewusst ist. Der Prozess der mathematischen Modellierung findet beim Lösen inverser Probleme Anwendung. Hierbei werden komplexe Probleme so vereinfacht, dass mathematische Modelle entwickelt und anschließend akkurate Lösungen berechnet werden können. Nun stellt sich die Frage, ob es auch für Schüler/innen der gymnasialen Oberstufe möglich ist, aufbauend auf ihr mathematisches Schulwissen und unter Einsatz des Computers solche komplexen Probleme zu bearbeiten und eigenständig akkurate Lösungen zu finden.

Bei inversen Problemen versucht man, Informationen über ein unbekanntes Objekt zu erhalten, indem man ungenaue, indirekte Daten verwendet. Typischerweise werden diese Daten durch ein Phänomen der Physik erzeugt. Sorgen kleine Fehler in den Daten für riesige im Objekt spricht man von einem schlecht gestellten inversem Problem. Es müssen deshalb die drei Bedingungen von Hadamard überprüft werden:

  • Existenz: Es sollte mindestens eine Lösung existieren.
  • Eindeutigkeit: Es sollte höchstens eine Lösung existieren.

  • Stabilität: Die Lösung sollte stetig von den Daten abhängig sein.

Genau an dieser Stelle setzt dieses Forschungsprojekt an. Ziel ist es, diese Probleme didaktisch so zu reduzieren, dass sie auch für Oberstufenschüler/innen zugänglich und im Rahmen eines eintägigen Workshops lösbar sind. Die Schulmathematik soll in den dafür benötigten mathematischen Methoden Anwendung finden, um so eine direkte Einbindung in den (fächerübergreifenden) Schulunterricht zu ermöglichen. Zudem zeigt das Lösen dieser realen Problemstellungen authentische Anwendungen der Schulmathematik, die bislang noch oft in den aktuellen Schulbüchern fehlen.

Computertomographie

Die Rekonstruktion eines Bildes bei der Computertomographie stellt ein solches schlecht gestelltes Inverses Problem dar. Um zu überprüfen, ob Knochen oder Organe bei einem Unfall verletzt wurden oder, ob ein Patient einen Tumor hat, werden Computertomographen verwendet. Der Patient wird mit Röntgenstrahlen bestrahlt und die Ärzte erhalten ein Abbild des Querschnitts der untersuchten Körperstelle. Dabei stellen verschiedene Grauwerte unterschiedliche Materialien dar, die beim Durchstrahlen die Strahlen verschieden stark abschwächen durch Absorption.

Im zentrale Frage des Workshops ist: "Wie ist es möglich mithilfe der Röntgenstrahlen Abbildungen der inneren Struktur der durchstrahlten Körperteile zu erhalten?"