Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Project goals

CAMMP aims to make the general public aware of the importance of mathematics and simulation sciences for society as a whole and at the same time serves as a career and study orientation. CAMMP thus serves as a perfect starting point for the subject IMP (Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics), since the interaction of these three subjects is fully exploited and is in the foreground:

Physics provides the underlying laws of nature, mathematics the iterative process, and in computer science simulation is realized on this basis. (Renate Allgöwer, Stuttgarter Zeitung, 14.08.2018)

CAMMP teaches mathematical modelling in a playful way and thus also promotes competencies in this area. Mathematical modelling comprises the following steps according to the curriculum of the schools:

  •  Translating the problem formulated in colloquial language into a mathematical model
  •  Solving of the model using existing mathematical knowledge
  •  Evaluation and verification of the received solution by interpretation of the results and description for the user.

By working in small teams, the students also expand their process-related skills, such as communication and team skills, as well as the use of hardware and software tools to solve problems.

In addition to the students, mathematics teachers can also benefit from an intensive study of mathematical modelling. Students often find it very motivating to experience authentic mathematics using real examples.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Projektziele

CAMMP will einer breiten Öffentlichkeit die Bedeutung von Mathematik und Simulationswissenschaften für die gesamte Gesellschaft bewusst machen und dient gleichzeitig als Berufs- und Studienorientierung. CAMMP dient dadurch mit unter als perfekte Anknüpfungsstelle für das Fach IMP  (Informatik, Mathematik, Physik), da das Zusammenspiel dieser drei Fächer vollkommen ausgenutzt wird und im Vordergrund steht: 

Die Physik liefert die zugrunde liegenden Naturgesetze, die Mathematik das iterative Verfahren, und in der Informatik wird die Simulation auf dieser Basis realisiert. (Renate Allgöwer, Stuttgarter Zeitung, 14.08.2018)

CAMMP vermittelt spielerisch den Umgang mit mathematischer Modellierung und fördert damit auch die Kompetenzen in diesem Bereich. Die mathematische Modellierung umfasst in Anlehnung an den Lehrplan der Schulen folgende Schritte:

  • Übersetzen des in Umgangssprache formulierten Problems in ein mathematisches Modell
  • Lösen des Modells mittels vorhandener mathematischer Kenntnisse
  • Bewertung und Überprüfung der erhaltenen Lösung durch Interpretation der Ergebnisse und Beschreibung für den Anwender

Die Schüler/innen erweitern durch die Arbeit in kleinen Teams zusätzlich weitere prozessbezogene Kompetenzen, wie Kommunikations- und Teamfähigkeit sowie das Nutzen von Hard- und Software-Werkzeugen zur Problemlösung.

Neben den Schüler/innen können auch Mathematiklehrer/innen von einer intensiven Beschäftigung mit mathematischer Modellierung profitieren. Schüler/innen empfinden es häufig sehr motivierend authetische Mathematik anhand von realen Beispielen zu erleben.