Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

History of CAMMP

Already since 1993 the working group Technomathematics of the Technical University of Kaiserslautern organizes in June or July a mathematical modeling week in Rhineland-Palatinate. Later the project KOMMS External Link developed from this.

The project week was initiated by Professor Dr. Helmut Neunzert, former director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Mathematics ITWM. Since then, events based on this concept have taken place regularly throughout Germany, Austria and Italy (South Tyrol).

In May 2011 the first CAMMP week took place in Nideggen, organized by Prof. Dr. Ahmed Ismail1, Dr. Nicole Faber2 and Prof. Dr. Martin Frank3. Already in the following year the CAMMP week 2012 was held in Voeren/Belgium with significantly more participants. Since 2012 CAMMP in Aachen also offers one-day CAMMP day projects, where classes or courses at the RWTH Aachen can get to know mathematical modeling better. In May 2013 CAMMP became an official student laboratory and belongs to one of the EDULABS of RWTH Aachen University. Due to an increasing demand, the CAMMP team has been growing continuously since 2013.

In September 2015, the co-founder Prof. Dr. Ahmed E. Ismail left the student laboratory, as he followed a call to the University of Virginia. In 2017 CAMMP expanded with a second location in Karlsruhe External Link, as co-founder Prof. Dr. Martin Frank moved to KIT in September 2017 and established CAMMP there together with Maren Hattebuhr and Kirsten Wohak. Since then, both CAMMP weeks and CAMMP days have taken place at both locations.

In 2018 and 2019 CAMMP received two awards: CAMMP was awarded the Brigitte Gilles Prize 2018 in the category "Projects, initiatives and individuals that contribute to awakening and promoting interest among female students in the disciplines of mathematics, computer science, natural sciences and technology (MINT)" for its commitment to the advancement of young women. CAMMP also received the Teaching Award 2019 in the category "Project of the Year" from RWTH Aachen University for its holistic approach to teaching mathematical modeling.

1 until August 2015: Chair of Molecular Simulation and Transformation, RWTH Aachen; since September 2015: Research Group Molecular Simulation, West Virginia University.
2 Graduate School AICES, RWTH Aachen.
3 until August 2017: MathCCES, RWTH Aachen; since September 2017: SCC, KIT.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Historie

Bereits seit 1993 veranstaltet die Arbeitsgruppe Technomathematik der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern jeweils im Juni oder Juli eine Mathematische Modellierungswoche in Rheinland-Pfalz.vSpäter entwickelte sich hieraus das Projekt KOMMS.

Die Projektwoche wurde von Professor Dr. Helmut Neunzert, dem ehemaligen Leiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik ITWM, ins Leben gerufen. Veranstaltungen nach diesem Konzept finden seitdem regelmäßig in ganz Deutschland, Österreich und Italien (Südtirol) statt.

Im Mai 2011 fand organisiert von Prof. Dr. Ahmed Ismail1, Dr. Nicole Faber2 und Prof. Dr. Martin Frank3 die erste CAMMP week in Nideggen statt. Bereits im folgenden Jahr wurde die CAMMP week 2012 in Voeren/Belgien mit deutlich mehr Teilnehmern ausgerichtet. Seit 2012 bietet CAMMP in Aachen auch eintägige CAMMP day Projekte an, bei denen Klassen oder Kurse an einem Tag an der RWTH Aachen die mathematische Modellierung näher kennenlernen können. Im Mai 2013 wurde CAMMP dann auch offiziell Schülerlabor und gehört damit zu einem der EDULABS der RWTH Aachen. Durch eine steigende Nachfrage wächst auch das CAMMP Team seit 2013 kontinuierlich an.
Im September 2015 verließ der Mitbegründer Prof. Dr. Ahmed E. Ismail das Schülerlabor, da dieser einem Ruf an die University of Virginia folgte. 2017 erweiterte sich CAMMP durch einen zweiten Standort in Karlsruhe, da Mitgründer Prof. Dr. Martin Frank im September 2017 ans KIT wechselte und dort zusammen mit Maren Hattebuhr und Kirsten Wohak CAMMP aufbaut. Seither finden sowohl CAMMP weeks als auch CAMMP days an beiden Standorten statt.

In den Jahren 2018 und 2019 erhielt CAMMP zwei Preise: CAMMP wurde für sein Engagement in der Förderung von jungen Frauen mit dem Brigitte-Gilles-Preis 2018 in der Kategorie „Projekte, Initiativen und Einzelpersonen, die dazu beitragen das Interesse von Schülerinnen an den Disziplinen Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik (MINT) zu wecken und zu fördern“ ausgezeichnet. Zudem erhielt CAMMP für seinen ganzheitlichen Ansatz zur Vermittlung von mathematischer Modellierung den Lehrpreis 2019 in der Kategorie „Projekt des Jahres“ von der RWTH Aachen.

1 bis August 2015: Lehrstuhl für Molekulare Simulation und Transformation, RWTH Aachen; seit September 2015: Forschungsgruppe Molekulare Simulation, West Virginia University.
2 Graduiertenschule AICES, RWTH Aachen.
3 bis August 2017: MathCCES, RWTH Aachen; seit September 2017: SCC, KIT.